Profitable Perennials Regions Map

Rolling over each colour-coded region will display the region’s name. Clicking on a region will show more information about that region, including a list of relevant documents from our knowledge base.  Read more about the Profitable Perennials Regions

About the regions

Southern Australia can be divided into four broad agro-climatic regions:

  • Temperate, cool seasons, wet, high rainfall (southern Victoria and NSW tablelands)
  • Classic ‘Mediterranean’ climate with cool, wet winters and warm to hot, dry summers (south-west WA and southern SA)
  • Mediterranean climate with drier, cooler winters, and with more summer rain in the eastern states, than the above regions (inland south-west WA, southern SA, north-west Victoria and southern NSW)
  • Temperate, sub-humid (NSW western slopes).

Within these broad regions further division is necessary to determine the best perennial plant options. Therefore, these regions have been divided into 12 regions based on rainfall (including occurrence of summer rain), minimum winter temperatures, soil type and soil pH.

Within these 12 regions, the dominant climatic feature varies. For example, in WA average annual rainfall is the dominant feature and, within each region, mean monthly temperatures will vary, being warmer in the north and cooler in the south.

The twelve regions are:



Future Farm Industries Cooperative Research Centre (CRC) ceased trading on 30 June 2014.

This website contains information about the CRC’s research into perennial plant based farming systems.

This site will remain live until 30 June 2017 but is no longer being updated or reviewed.

Further information about CRC research projects can be obtained by following links from relevant project pages or by viewing the research transfer page.

The CRC was funded for seven years (2007-2014) under the Australian Government Cooperative Research Centre program.